Tag Archives: hard-boiled

Award-Winning Mystery Writer S.J. Rozan Recommends “The Dread Line”

A big thank you to S.J. Rozan, award-winning author of  fine mysteries including Ghost Hero and Blood of the Lamb, for her shout-out about The Dread Line, the fifth in my Edgar Award-winning series of hardboiled crime novels. Here’s what … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

It Was As If Joe Friday Had Been Stripped of His Badge

An unanticipated disaster struck as I was writing the fourth novel in my hard-boiled series of crime novels featuring investigative reporter Liam Mulligan: The failing Providence, R.I. newspaper he had been working for abruptly fired him, creating a crisis for … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Best-Selling Mystery Writer Reed Farrel Coleman Raves About “THE DREAD LINE”

Reed Farrel Coleman, the best-selling mystery author who is now writing the Jesse Stone series originated by the late Robert B. Parker, says this about the latest book in my Edgar Award-winning series of hard-boiled crime novels: “From the great … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

CB McKenzie’s “Burn What Will Burn” — My Review

Burn What Will Burn, Edgar Award win CB McKenzie’s second novel, is a suspenseful, hard-boiled crime yarn filled with well-drawn, quirky characters and written in a tight, literary prose style. You can read my full Associated Press review of the … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Year-End Honor for “A Scourge of Vipers”

My thanks to Scott MacKay of the Rhode Island NPR affiliate for including my latest crime novel,  A Scourge of Vipers, on the list of his favorite 2015 books. Scott said in part, “DeSilva shows once again that he is … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

“A Scourge of Vipers” Officially Released Today, April 7

Today is the official release date for A Scourge of Vipers, the fourth novel in my Edgar Award-winning series of crime novels. Click here for links to online booksellers, including both independents and chains, that are carrying it. Publishers Weekly and … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

“A Scourge of Vipers is a Masterpiece” — The Providence Journal

The Providence Journal always reviews my hard-boiled crime novels, perhaps because the books, featuring investigative reporter Liam Mulligan, are set in that city. This time the newspaper tapped veteran thriller writer Jon Land, a Rhode Island native, to write the … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

“Publishers Weekly” Names “A Scourge of Vipers” A Pick of the Week

Publishers Weekly, the bible of the book-publishing biz, just named my latest hard-boiled crime novel, A Scourge of Vipers, one of its “picks of the week” for April 6. I’m honored to be named in the same breath with the … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Why I Never Outline My Novels, Preferring to Discover The Story As I Go Along

Some novelists outline their plots before they start to write. Others don’t. There’s no right way to do it. Each writer does what’s best for him or her. I never outline my hard-boiled crime novels. In this guest blog I … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

James Lee Burke Raves About “A Scourge of Vipers”

Here’s what American Mystery Writers of America Grandmaster James Lee Burke says about A Scourge of Vipers, the new crime novel in my Edgar Award-winning series: “Bruce DeSilva writes a story in the tradition of Hammett and Higgins, and he … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment