Tag Archives: Rhode Island

Who’s Reading “A Scourge of Vipers?” Former Providence, R.I., Mayor Buddy Cianci

Look who’s reading A Scourge of Vipers, the new crime novel in my Edgar Award-winning series set in Providence, Rhode Island. It’s former Providence Mayor Vincent A Cianci Jr., better known as “Buddy.” These days, he hosts the most popular … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

The Hero of “A Scourge of Vipers,” and Why I Feel Such a Strong Personal Bond with Him

This blog entry about Liam Mulligan, the protagonist in my series of hardboiled crime novels, first appeared on the Lesa’s Book Critiques website: The last time I saw Bruce DeSilva was at the Poisoned Pen book store in 2010. So, … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

The Associated Press Raves About “A Scourge of Vipers”

The AP says: “Edgar Award-winning author Bruce DeSilva delivers another outstanding mystery featuring his Providence, Rhode Island, investigative journalist Liam Mulligan in A Scourge of Vipers.” You can read the entire review here. Click here for links to online booksellers, … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

“A Scourge of Vipers is a Masterpiece” — The Providence Journal

The Providence Journal always reviews my hard-boiled crime novels, perhaps because the books, featuring investigative reporter Liam Mulligan, are set in that city. This time the newspaper tapped veteran thriller writer Jon Land, a Rhode Island native, to write the … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Why I Never Outline My Novels, Preferring to Discover The Story As I Go Along

Some novelists outline their plots before they start to write. Others don’t. There’s no right way to do it. Each writer does what’s best for him or her. I never outline my hard-boiled crime novels. In this guest blog I … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

James Lee Burke Raves About “A Scourge of Vipers”

Here’s what American Mystery Writers of America Grandmaster James Lee Burke says about A Scourge of Vipers, the new crime novel in my Edgar Award-winning series: “Bruce DeSilva writes a story in the tradition of Hammett and Higgins, and he … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Interview About “A Scourge of Vipers,” The New Novel In My Edgar Award-Winning Series

BookMarket Buzz Blog, one of the top online sites for talk about new books, interviewed me about A Scourge of Vipers, the latest crime novel in my Edgar Award-winning series featuring Liam Mulligan, an investigative reporter for a dying newspaper … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Audio Edition Of “Providence Rag” Named Finalist For Audie Award

The audio edition of Providence Rag, the third book in my series of hardboiled crime novels, has been named a finalist for the Audie Award. Given by the Audio Publishers Association, it is the Oscar of the audio book industry. … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

New Mulligan Crime Novel To Be Published April 7

A Scourge of Vipers, the fourth hardboiled crime novel in my series featuring Liam Mulligan, an investigative reporter at a dying Providence, RI, newspaper, will be published in hardcover and e-book editions by Forge on April 7. I love the … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Who’s Reading “Providence Rag” Now? It’s NY Times Best-Selling Mystery Writer Laurie R. King.

Laurie R. King is one of the finest mystery writers around, the author of 22 novels including  The Beekeeper’s Apprentice, named one of the 20th century’s best crime novels by the Independent Mystery Booksellers Association. Her most recent novel is this year’s … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment