The Ten Best Crime Novels of 2011

This was a great year for crime fiction, so perhaps it would be better to call these my favorites, rather than the best. Or maybe I should just say that of the ones I’ve read, these are the ten I liked best–because, of course, I haven’t read everything.

In any case, here’s the list.

Feast Day of Fools  by James Lee Burke

Claire DeWitt and the City of the Dead by Sara Gran

When the Thrill is Gone by Walter Mosley

Started Early, Took My Dog by Kate Atkinson

The Cut by George Pelecanos

The Quest for Anna Klein by Thomas H. Cook

The Devil She Knows by Bill Loehfelm

The Most Dangerous Thing by Laura Lippman

Back of Beyond by CJ Box

Trespasser by Paul Doiron

That’s my top ten, but I’d be remiss if I didn’t also recommend:

Misery Bay by Steve Hamilton

The Sentry by Robert Crais

A Drop of the Hard Stuff by Lawrence Block

The Ranger by Ace Atkins

Ghost Heroes by S.J. Rozan

About Bruce DeSilva

Crime Novelist
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Ten Best Crime Novels of 2011

  1. Joshua Corin says:

    Great list, Bruce – and now I have about half a dozen books to add to my reading list…

  2. Jerry says:

    I’ll add several of the titles you mention to that towering stack of books to read. I liked Cumming’s “The Trinity Six” and, especially, P. C. Sturges’ “Shortcut Man.” Sturges is son of director-writer Preston Sturges and this thriller proves again that the apples fall smack under the tree. It’s often hilarious and ultimately touching — just like his dad’s great screwball comedies. Like all too many good and great books, this one came out and went into the Bermuda Triangle of overlooked gems.

  3. joyce dalzell says:

    Thanks! Are these in rank order or in order read?

  4. utenzi says:

    Great list. I’ve read about a third of them so I’d best get busy and read a few more!

Leave a comment